Past Events

Past Events

Energy Forum 2014

Representatives from across the energy industry at the third Erasmus Energy Forum in June 2014 showed support for a common European framework and foresaw a reliance on smartgrids – but other changes are also required if it is to successfully transition to sustainable sources of energy, according to speakers from the top echelons of politics, business and academia. This Erasmus Energy Forum drew attention from organisations at the highest level with EU Commissioner for Energy Günther Oettinger as a speaker at the Wereldmuseum in Rotterdam. He described the Erasmus Energy Forum as an excellent opportunity to discuss advances. Read a full report of the 2014 Erasmus Energy Forum.

Speakers were:

  • Allard Castelein, CEO Port of Rotterdam Authority
  • Günther H. Oettinger, European Commissioner for Energy, European Commission
  • Prof. Wolfgang Ketter, Rotterdam School of Management, Erasmus University
  • Mr. Hans ten Berge, Secretary General, Union of the Electricity Industry
  • Prof. Derek Bunn, London Business School, UK
  • Ir. Mel Kroon, CEO TenneT
  • Prof. Coby van der Linde, Director of the Clingendael International Energy Programma (CIEP)
  • Volker Beckers, Chairman, former Group CEO and expert in the integrated energy business
  • Prof. Peter Birkner, Member Executive Board, Mainova
  • Peter Smink, CEO, Nuon The Netherlands
  • Robbert-Jan Stegeman, CIO, Alliander
  • Prof. Marc Oliver Bettzüge, Institute of Energy Economics, University of Cologne, Germany
  • Guido Dubbeld, CFO, Eneco Holding N.V.
  • Dr Martin Kröner, Managing Partner at Munich Venture Partners
  • Dr Ronald Huisman, Erasmus School of Economics, Erasmus University Rotterdam
  • Jonathon Porritt, Environmentalist and writer
  • Manon Janssen, CEO and Managing Director, Ecofys

Energy Forum 2013

The second Erasmus Energy Forum in June 2013 took place in Rotterdam's opulent Wereldmuseum on the waterfront, and again featured lively panel discussions involving academics, political leaders and top representatives from major international businesses with an audience of more than 125 participants, split almost equally between academia and business. Under discussion were testing the smart grid of the future, changing consumer habits, the role of e-mobility in future-proofing the motor industry, investing in future energy business, the relationship between the customer and the ecosystem, and co-operation in a 'back to basics' rethink as well as imperatives for the smart grid and smart homes. Read a full report of the 2013 Erasmus Energy Forum.

The speakers were:

  • Volker Beckers, Former Group CEO of npower, RWE
  • Jan Paul Buijs, IT Strategist, RWE-Essent
  • Dr Jochen Kreusel, Head Smart Grid, ABB
  • Kerstin Meerwaldt, Electric Mobility Strategy, BMW Group
  • Ir. Huib Morelisse, CEO of Nuon
  • Prof. Shmuel Oren Earl J. Isaac Chair Professor in the Science and Analysis of Decision Making in the Industrial Engineering and Operations Research department at the University of California, Berkeley
  • Dr. Dirk Schlesinger, Global lead for Manufacturing Industries at Cisco

Erasmus Energy Forum 2012

The inaugural Erasmus Energy Forum event in 2012 was hosted in the floating Drijvend Paviljoen in Rotterdam’s central harbour district, and featured vigorous panel discussions involving academics, political leaders and top representatives from major international businesses with an audience of more than 100 participants from academia and business. Under discussion were changes taking place in the energy industry and what needs to be done to meet tomorrow’s demands for power supplies. Read a full report of the 2012 Erasmus Energy Forum.

The speakers were:

  • Dr Heinz-Peter Behr, German Ambassador to the Netherlands
  • Markus Bokelmann, CEO E.ON Benelux
  • Dr John Collins, Lecturer in Computer Science at the University of Minnesota, USA
  • Pieter van Essen, Project Director for the Rotterdam Climate Initiative and Advisor to the Port of Rotterdam Authority board
  • Erik van der Heijden, Head of the Smart Grid Division of Siemens in the Netherlands
  • Alexandra van Huffelen, Alderman (wethouder) for the City of Rotterdam
  • Baukje Oostenbrug, Manager for New Energy at Essent RWE
  • Dr Andreas L. Symeonidis, Aristotle University of Thessaloniki