Geke Rosier receiving the Dianne Bevelander Prize at ECWO's 2022 conference

Nominations are now open for the Dianne Bevelander Prize which is awarded annually to an individual who has furthered gender equality within their organisation during the previous year.

The award honours the life and work of the founder of the Erasmus Centre for Women and Organisations (ECWO), Professor Dianne Bevelander, who passed away in August 2021. It is part of the Dianne Bevelander Fund which aims to both empower women and highlight and honour those who have made a significant contribution to the advancement of women.

Nominations for the award open on April 17th and close on at midnight CET May 18th 2023. They can be made through this online form.

The Dianne Bevelander Prize was inaugurated in 2022 and the first prize was won by Geke Rosier, founder of RightBrains. Rosier was awarded a € 1,500 grant for championing women via her career platform RightBrains, which aims to bridge the digital gender gap through dedicated mentorship.

“In the year since I was awarded the Dianne Bevelander prize, I have been continually reflecting on what it means to leave a legacy as a woman championing gender diversity,” says Rosier. “The individual recognition offered by this award validates one’s efforts on a personal level, but I find it incredibly exciting that awards like this exist and are, more importantly, celebrated.

“The legacy that Prof Bevelander left aims to further the ECWO’s vision of a world where women have an equal share of organisational power and influence; and I hope each future recipient will realise that their influence and efforts are the rungs that future female leaders will be able to leverage. “

“Dianne’s message throughout her extraordinary life was that women can lead from wherever they are in their organisation and career,” says ECWO’s Executive Director, Professor Hanneke Takkenberg. “The prize honours an inspirational individual who is leading in a way that has significantly impacted gender equality within their own organisation over the past year.”

The winner of the Dianne Bevelander Prize will be awarded a sum of money to be used for a project that amplifies gender equality, in an area of society chosen by the winner.

The winner will be announced on June 17th each year in honour of Prof. Bevelander’s birthday. The prize will be handed over during ECWO’s annual summit in November.

About Professor Dianne Bevelander

A true pioneer of gender equality in organisations, in 2011, in her role as Associate Dean for MBA Programmes, Prof. Bevelander established the first all women leadership elective as part of Rotterdam School of Management, Erasmus University’s MBA programmes. It 2014 she founded  ECWO is a centre of teaching, research, advisory and advocacy, focusing on redressing the gender imbalance in organisations and empowering women to reach their full potential, create communities and drive change in society. More than seven years on, ECWO is a centre of excellence, working with individual women, companies, organisations and broader society in advancing gender equality. Prof. Bevelander died on August 29th 2021 after a nearly two decade career at Rotterdam School of Management, Erasmus University (RSM).

About ECWO

The Erasmus Centre for Women and Organisations (ECWO) at the Rotterdam School of Management, Erasmus University (RSM) is committed to creating organisations where all women are fully and equitably engaged at all levels. ECWO does this by through education, research and advocacy that benefits individual women, organisations and society as a whole and helps create communities of women who support and empower each other in creating change. ECWO’s open programmes, in-company programmes, coaching, events, advisory alliances, research and advocacy drive its vision of a world where all women have an equal share of organisational power and influence.

About the Dianne Bevelander Memorial Fund

The Dianne Bevelander Memorial Fund aims to both empower women and highlight and honour those who have made a significant contribution to the advancement of women. It provides an opportunity for the community that Professor Bevelander created to play an role in continuing the legacy of this extraordinary woman. The fund includes The Dianne Bevelander Annual Prize and The Dianne Bevelander Travel Fund aimed at supporting young women students, researchers and academics with financial support to attend events or conferences that further the cause of gender balance and equality in society. You can donate to the fund here.

EC for women and organisations