On Tuesday November 18th 2014 Triple IT was awarded the Erasmus Innovation Award 2014 by the Secretary-General of the Dutch Ministry of Economic Affairs, Mr. Maarten Camps. The award ceremony took place during the 'National Day of Social Innovation' congress. Triple IT provides content, media and technology solutions for internet and mobile technologies. The company attains above-average scores for several innovation indicators.

The jury based its selection of Triple IT as the most innovative company on the Erasmus Competition and Innovation Monitor 2013 - 2014. It praised Triple IT's 'combination of innovation, performance and culture which the company continues to build on', and includes the 'modernisation of labour relations'.

Examples include the organisation's internal collaboration and communication initiatives, but also the leadership it has demonstrated in responding to emerging opportunities. This has resulted in solutions like ‘mobile Viewpoint,' which allows people - wherever they are on the planet - to send real-time videos without using satellites. The BBC is one of the organisations that uses this kind of solution in remote and difficult situations. The jury also expressed its appreciation of the social contribution of Triple IT's solutions by 'improving the accessibility of information for a wide audience'.

The head researcher, Henk Volberda Professor of of Strategic Management & Business Policy at Rotterdam School of Management, Erasmus University (RSM), comments: 'Triple IT has combined the introduction of new technologies, internal collaboration, and an innovative mindset in order to successfully respond to the rapidly changing market in which it operates'. Triple IT is led by Global Executive OneMBA graduate Ben van der Burg.

The other nominees were Incotec Group, Nunhems BV and YoungCapital - leading examples of innovative companies. These four organisations were nominated for the Erasmus Innovation Award 2014 on the basis of data from the Erasmus Competition and Innovation Monitor 2013 - 2014, desk research and interviews with companies.

The members of the  jury that chose the winner of the Erasmus Innovation Award 2014 were:

  • Mariëtte Hamer - Chairman of the Social and Economic Council of the Netherlands
  • Theo Koster - Director of NEVAT
  • Bertholt Leeftink - Director-General of Enterprise and Innovation, Dutch Ministry of Economic Affairs
  • Frans van den Bosch, Professor of Management Interfaces between Organisations and Environment at RSM
  • Glenn van der Burg - People expert at MVO Nederland
  • Henk Volberda - Professor of Strategic Management & Business Policy at RSM.

Erasmus Competition and Innovation Monitor 2013 - 2014 was conducted amongst about ten thousand organisations in the Netherlands. Under the leadership of Professor Henk Volberda it has provided new insights into how new ways of organising, managing, working, and collaborating with external parties contributes to the innovation success of Dutch companies.

Rotterdam School of Management, Erasmus University (RSM) is ranked amongst Europe’s top 10 business schools for education and amongst the top three for research. RSM provides ground-breaking research and education furthering excellence in all aspects of management and is based in the international port city of Rotterdam - a vital nexus of business, logistics and trade. RSM’s primary focus is on developing business leaders with international careers who carry their innovative mindset into a sustainable future thanks to a first-class range of bachelor, master, MBA, PhD and executive programmes. RSM also has offices in the Amsterdam Zuidas business district and in Taipei, Taiwan. www.rsm.nl

For more information on this release, please contact Marianne Schouten, Media & Public Relations Manager for RSM, on +31 10 408 2877 or by email at mschouten@rsm.nl.

Companies , Faculty & Research , Homepage , Newsroom , Strategic management and entrepreneurship